About the prize
Site map
Prizes awarded

Crafoord Prize Symposium in Astronomy 2016-05-25

Rotating black holes and their astrophysical consequences

Spinning Black Holes, Crafoord Laureate 2016 Roy Kerr, University of Canterbury, Christchurch, New Zealand.

Engaging the Black Hole, Crafoord Laureate 2016 Roger Blandford, Stanford University, CA, USA.

Disturbed Kerr Black Holes, Kip S. Thorne, California Institute of Technology,
Pasadena, CA, USA.

Black Holes and Elementary Particle Physics, Gerard ‘t Hooft, Spinoza Instituut,
Utrecht, Netherland.

The Dynamical Strong-field Regime of General Relativity, Frans Pretorius, Princeton University, NJ, USA.

Simulations of the Blandford-Znajek Effect for Kerr Black Holes, Jonathan C. McKinney, University of Maryland, MD, USA.

X-ray Observations of Rotating Astrophysical Black Holes, Andrew Fabian, Institute of Astronomy, Cambridge, UK.

Einstein’s Symphony, LIGO and the Discovery of Gravitational Waves from a Binary Black Hole Merger, Laura Cadonati, Georgia Institute of Technology, Atlanta, GA, USA.

Black Holes as Laboratories for Fundamental Physics, David Wiltshire, University of Canterbury, Christchurch, New Zealand.

The Current and Future View from the Edge, Avery Broderick, University of Waterloo & Perimeter Institute for Theoretical Physics, Waterloo, Ontario, Canada.