About the prize
Site map
Prizes awarded

Latest prize

Illustrationer: Anna-Lena Lindqvist

Illustrationer: Anna-Lena Lindqvist

The Crafoord Prizes in Mathematics and Astronomy 2016

The Royal Swedish Academy of Sciences has decided to award the 2016 Crafoord Prize in Mathematics to Yakov Eliashberg, Stanford University, Stanford, CA, USA, “for the development of contact and symplectic topology and groundbreaking discoveries of rigidity and flexibility phenomena” and the 2016 Crafoord Prize in Astronomy to Roy Kerr, University of Canterbury, Christchurch, New Zealand, and Roger Blandford, Stanford University, CA, USA, for fundamental work concerning rotating black holes and their astrophysical consequences”.

Read the full press release

Earlier prizes

From 1982-2005 the prize in astronomy and mathematics was
awarded according to the scheme:

astronomy in 2005, 1997, 1991 and 1985,
mathematics in 2001, 1994, 1988 and 1982.

In 2008 there was a joint prize in astronomy and mathematics with one half to the mathematicians Kontsevich and Witten and the other half to the astronomer Sunyaev.

Starting in 2012 there will be two separate prizes in astronomy
and mathematics awarded at the same time, each with a prize sum of SEK 4 million.

2012 Jean Bourgain, Terence Tao, Reinhard Genzel, Andrea Ghez

2008 Maxim Kontsevich, Edward Witten,Rashid Sunyaev

2005 James E. Gunn, P. James E. Peebles, Martin J. Rees

2001 Alain Connes

1997 Fred Hoyle, Edwin E. Salpeter

1994 Simon Donaldson, Shing-Tung Yau

1991 Allan R. Sandage

1988 Pierre Deligne, Alexander Grothendieck

1985 Lyman Spitzer, Jr.

1982 Vladimir Igorevich Arnold, Louis Nirenberg

Astronomy & Mathematics