About the prize
Site map
Prizes awarded

The Crafoord Prize in astronomy and mathematics, biosciences, geosciences or polyarthritis research is awarded by the Royal Swedish Academy of Sciences annually according to a rotating scheme. The prize sum of SEK 6 million makes the Crafoord one of the world´s largest scientific prizes.

The Crafoord Prizes in Mathematics and Astronomy 2016

The Royal Swedish Academy of Sciences has decided to award the 2016 Crafoord Prize in Mathematics to Yakov Eliashberg, Stanford University, Stanford, CA, USA,

“for the development of contact and symplectic topology and groundbreaking discoveries of rigidity and flexibility phenomena”

and the 2016 Crafoord Prize in Astronomy to Roy Kerr, University of Canterbury, Christchurch, New Zealand, and Roger Blandford, Stanford University, CA, USA,

for fundamental work concerning rotating black holes and their astrophysical consequences”.

Read the full press release

The Crafoord Prize in Mathematics

The Crafoord Prize in Astronomy

Crafoord Days 2016

The Crafoord Days 2016 are celebrated in Stockholm and Lund from 24 to 26 May with Prize symposium, Prize lecture and the Prize award ceremony at the Royal Swedish Academy of Sciences, in the presence of Their Majesties the King and Queen of Sweden. The symposium and lectures will be webcast live and will later be available as video on demand at KVATV and the Crafoord Prize website. There you can also find video from previous Crafoord Days.

Read more and register at the Royal Swedish Academy of Sciences website