About the prize
Site map
Prizes awarded

The Crafoord Prize in astronomy and mathematics, biosciences, geosciences or polyarthritis research is awarded in partnership between the Royal Swedish Academy of Sciences and the Crafoord Foundation in Lund. The Academy is responsible for selecting the Crafoord Laureates. The prize sum of SEK 6 million makes the Crafoord Prize one of the
world´s largest scientific prizes.

Anna-Greta and Holger Crafoord´s Fund was established in 1980 and the first prize was awarded in 1982. The prize is intended to promote international basic research in the disciplines:

  • Astronomy and Mathematics,  
  • Geosciences,
  • Biosciences, with particular emphasis on ecology and
  • Polyarthritis (rheumatoid arthritis).

These disciplines are chosen so as to complement those for which the Nobel Prizes are awarded. The recipients are worthy scientists who receive the prize in accordance with a set scheme:

  • Year 1 Astronomy and Mathematics
  • Year 2 Geosciences
  • Year 3 Biosciences
  • (repeat)

The prize in polyarthritis is awarded only when a special committee has shown that scientific progress in this field has been such that an award is justified.

Starting in 2012, there will be two separate prizes in astronomy and mathematics awarded at the same time, each with a prize sum of SEK 4 million.

The laureates are announced in mid-January each year, and the prize is presented in April/May on “Crafoord Day". It is received from the hand of His Majesty the King of Sweden. In connection with the Crafoord Day, a symposium in the discipline in question is arranged by the Royal Swedish Academy of Sciences. Read more about this at the menu “Events".

The Crafoord Prize 1982-2016